RAIN

Weird, it’s raining.

Honestly, it never rains in Oregon. It’s also never grey, never gloomy and we have the tannest people to walk this earth living here. Surprised? You shouldn’t be, Oregon is sunny, sunny, sunny!

Sorry, I’m sitting in front of a window watching the weather be the way that it is for nine months of the year.

When I was younger it never bothered me. I loved nothing more than grabbing a big umbrella, boots and a rain coat and heading out into the down pours. Maybe that all changed when I no longer enjoyed being soppy and soggy.

Still, I will always and forever defend my home state. Mainly because as I have gotten older (I’m ancient at 22) I have come to realize how lucky I am. Yeah it rains a lot in the city I live in, but truly, Oregon offers it all. I live smack dab in the middle of a valley, and you know what I have to either sides of me? EVERYTHING. To the west you will find the ocean and to the east you will find the moutains AND the desert.

Furthermore, if nature isn’t quite your thing, then why not try Portland? It may not be the biggest metropolitan area in the U.S., but it is one of the best kept secrets. Portland offers everything you could want from a big city in such an intimate manner that it’s impossible to dislike your time spent there. Like gourmet food? Why not check out Oba? It’s a newer restaurant situated in The Pearl District of Portland.

Or are you more of a shopper or a music buff? Well, then Portland has you covered as well! To find great shopping you don’t need to look any farther than Pioneer Place and to find/discover great music there is always the newly opened Doug Fir Lounge.

Moral of the story? Yes, it is rainy, grey and gloomy for most of the year in the great state of Oregon. However, if you were willing to give this place a chance, I think you would be surprised at how much you would truly fall in love with it.

Leave a Reply

