Artistically Challenged

I know nothing about art. Actually, let me rephrase that. I know what I like, but I can’t easily communicate why I like it. I usually end up saying something along the lines of “Oh, wow, that’s really cute/pretty/cool/colorful!” And don’t even get me started if a piece has glitter or sparkles somehow involved in its creation, because then it’s a whole new ball game. I LOVE SPARKLES. Basically, I think I need a crash course in the language of art.

That’s why it’s handy to have friends who have gone to school for art. It’s such a treat to hear what they have to say. Beyond that, compared to myself, it seems like most art students have been trained to think differently than me. We might both be staring at the same painting or photograph, but I know we’re not even close to thinking the same thing about it.

For example, I went with my friend to see an undergrad art show yesterday at the LaVerne Krause Gallery and I didn’t even know where to begin. The entire reason we went was because I knew one of the gorgeous young ladies showing her work, but as soon as we arrived I became tongue-tied. While we were looking at her photography I just kept thinking how fantastic some of the framing was, but even that doesn’t put into words what I was thinking. Whereas when I asked my friend what he thought (keep in mind he went to art school), he was able to talk forever about what he thought about the images in front of him.

However, one thing that we both agreed on was how wonderful it is when art causes a reaction in you. It doesn’t really matter if it is a good or bad reaction, as long as it is causing something inside of you to stir. I’m happy to say that a few pieces at the show caused a reaction in me. One was an art instillation of travelling. It included a couple of props and a video that made me dizzy, but at the same time made me think. The video was very film noir because of all of its black and white images, as well as all the geometric lines and shapes found throughout. I really enjoyed this specific instillation because not only did it make me happy to look at, but it also made me think.

Anyway, I know I will never be an artist or an art critic, but I still think I am in dire need of a crash course in the language of art.

Leave a Reply

